Manage Inactive Users for Jira

Approved for Jira Data Center (tick)

Simple add-on to remove License for Inactive users and Deactivate or remove Security access groups for users who left organization.

Use Cases:

  • To remove License for Jira users who are Never Login or Not active and exists.
  • To remove License or Access Security Groups for Jira users who left company or Not exists in organization directory
  • To restore license Or Grant Access on Successful Login attempt.
  • To search inactive users certain number of days and export to CSV.

Features:

  • All Atlassian provided user directories are supported.
  • Supports custom remote external Directories.
  • Option to choose Multi User Directories to process users.
  • Option to process users from specific groups.
  • Option to skip users from specific groups.
  • Option to rename Deactivated user to {username}_inactive_yyyyMMdd
  • Useful REST APIs
  • Also available for Cloud hosting:


Top Trusted Users

    


Quick Start Steps.

Here is Quick Start Steps to start using this plugin.


STEP-1

Go to, add-ons admin page > Click Manage Inactive Users.


Step-1A: Configure Skip users for inactivation or deactivation process.


Step-1B: Verify Admin user in App settings > Click update again to confirm.

Note. If your admin username is email prefix then please ensure this email address is not associated for other users.


STEP-2

Go to, add-ons admin page > Click Manage Inactive Users

Use Case 1 > To reduce the license count.

Configuration to Remove License or Access Security Groups for Jira users who are Never Login or Not active.

Note:

  • User Directory Name: To process users for inactivation specific to these directories
  • Processing Group (Optional): It gives flexibility to process users for inactivation from specific group (e.g jira-software-users).
    • For testing you can use the group with small number of users.
    • If empty it processes all users
  • Deactivate Users (Optional):
    • Set False to reduce license count.
    • Set False if user directory is read-only.
  • Remove Groups: Enter a comma separated license groups to remove for inactive users.
  • Add Groups (Optional): To add those users inactive users e.g. jira-inactive-users.
  • All Atlassian provided user directories are supported:
    • Supports license groups removal and helps to reduce license count.
    • For Deactivation: User Directory must have read + write permissions.
    • For Crowd Directory: Enable Read/Write access at crowd properties.


Use Case 2 > To deactivate users. (Optional)

To remove License or Access Security Groups for Jira users who left company or Not exists in organization directory.

It validates user status in remote user directory.

Note:

  • User Directory Name: To process users for inactivation specific to these directories
  • Processing Group (Optional): It gives flexibility to process users for inactivation from specific group (e.g jira-software-users).
    • For testing you can use the group with small number of users.
    • If empty it processes all users
  • Deactivate Users (Optional):.
    • Set False to remove defined license / access groups for deactivated users and reduces license count.
    • Set False if user directory is read-only.
  • Remove Groups: Enter a comma separated license groups to remove for inactive users.
  • All Atlassian provided user directories are supported:
    • Supports license groups removal and helps to reduce license count.
    • For Deactivation: User Directory must have read + write permissions.
    • For Crowd Directory: Enable Read/Write access at crowd properties
  • For Internal Directory you need to consider using custom remote directory to validate user status.
  • In addition to default Jira Supported User Directories, it also Supports custom remote external Directories.


STEP-3

Go to, add-ons admin page > Click Manage Inactive Users > Click Schedule

Define interval hours to run the user deactivation automatically.

Note:

  • Admin Username (Required): Plugin uses this admin user privileges to deactivate users
  • For Manual runs:
    • Go to, On Demand Run > Click Never Login Users Clean
    • Go to, On Demand Run > Click Inactive Users Clean
    • Go to, On Demand Run > Click Former Users Clean


To enable / grant Login access back to those inactive users automatically:

See Jira License reclamation


STEP-4

To Debug Manage Inactive Users App:

Go to, System General Configuration > Logging and profiling > Default Loggers > Click Configure

Class/Package Name: com.tse.jira.deactivateusers.plugin
Level: Debug

Click Add.